Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 75

Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 71

Warning: Memcache::add() [memcache.add]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 65
empire today Complaint - Horrible Floor Installation Experience - Empire Today Laminate flooring
empire today Complaint

empire today Complaint

ADVERTISEMENT

Horrible Floor Installation Experience - Empire Today Laminate flooring


The primary reason I selected Empire Today to install new laminate floors in my house, is because of its excellent TV commercials. Empire Today’s commercials emphasized affordability, good service, and high customer satisfaction. In fact, I envisioned myself sitting in my living room pleased and admiring Empire Today’s installation work. Unfortunately, I did not have that type of experience.

I was extremely frustrated because I did everything in my power to get this issue resolved Empire Today in a timely manner.

On Wednesday, 8/5/15, I signed a contract with Empire Today to have $4000.00 of laminate flooring installed in my house. After, the Empire Today floor covering consultant checked to make sure the floor materials were available, we scheduled the floor installation to begin at 9 AM on Monday, 8/10/15.

Following is a timeline of what happened after I signed the contract:

On 8/10/15, I received call from installer. He stated, “I don’t know what happen, but your materials have not arrived.” Consequently, he stated that will install my laminate floor beginning at 9 AM on Wednesday, 8/12/15.

On 8/12/15, Installer arrives alone in white van, 2 hours and 37 minutes late. He did not have a badge or business card. Installer leaves my house and says he will be back on Thursday at 7 AM.

On Thursday, 8/13/15, installer arrives with another person, 2 hours and 29 minutes late. Installer leaves my house. Prior to leaving, installer says he was not given enough molding to complete the job. I ask him what time should I expect him back. He said maybe Saturday (8/15/15).

I explained to him that I had contracted for my floor installation to start on Monday morning. The job was to be completed no later than Wednesday. I told him that my house is a mess and this has been a big inconvenience to me. I told him that he needs to complete my floor installation first before starting another project. Also, I told him that he needs to come back on Friday and complete the job. He told me that he will call me before he comes back to my house on Friday.

When I walked through my house, I discovered the following:

• The installer and his help had not cleaned up their mess thoroughly.

• There were a couple of nails left on the floor; one in the bathroom and one in the kitchen. My neighbor yelled as he accidently stepped on the nail in the kitchen.

• I gave the installer and his friend some Gatorade because it was hot. I discovered that they left the plastic bottles on the floor.

• On one wall, they used two different moldings—different size and color.

• On one wall where the installer had glued the molding, it has already come apart from the wall. There is almost a ¼ inch gap with the thick glue visible.

On 8/14/15, installer did not come to my house, nor did he call to explain why. I contacted the Floor Covering Consultant. He instructed me to contact Empire Today at the 800-588-2300 toll free number. My phone records indicate that I called them at 2:55 PM. After 22 minutes on the phone with the Empire Today representative (most of the time I was on hold), she told that I somehow was connected to the wrong office; this was the San Francisco office. She asked me to call the 800-588-2300 number again. I was thoroughly frustrated. I asked her to transfer my call to the appropriate office. She said she could not. I told her, as a customer, I was not at all happy with the poor service I have been receiving from Empire Today. She said she understood and told me, “We all have our little ups and downs in life.”

I was very offended by her remarks, no matter how well intended it might have been. It was unprofessional and unacceptable to explain away Empire Today’s poor service as one of my “little ups and downs in life.” The responsibility for this issue lies with Empire Today.

So, I called the 800-588-2300 number again at 4:07 PM. We spoke for 14 minutes. I explained to the representative the situation. She said that Empire Today will try to contact the contractor and then a manager will call me back. I asked her when will be called. She said Empire Today will call me in 2 to 4 hours. I never received a call back.

On 8/15/15, the installer did not come to my house, nor did he call to explain why. I still have not received a call back from an Empire Today manager as promised.

On 8/17/15, the installer did not come to my house, nor did he call to explain why. Since I didn’t receive a call back from a manager, I called Empire Today again. The Empire Today representative informed me that their computer system indicated that the installer is scheduled to arrive at my house between 6 - 8 PM this evening. The installer arrived at my house at 9:25 PM. He was unable to complete the job because he ran out of molding and baseboard.

On 8/20/15, the installer arrived at my house at 10: AM. He finally completed the job. But, there was a 8 inch part of the molding that needed to be re-glued. I was so tired and beaten down by Empire Today prolonged floor installation, I told him I will have a friend of mine do it. If he was unsuccessful, then I will call him back within the 30 days. I just wanted to get my house back.

When I signed the contract to have my floors done, I thought--if I was pleased with the work, I was going to have Empire Today install new carpet in my four bedrooms. But, my experience has been very bad. I have had to sacrifice 10 days of my time. Despite the fact I was promised that it would take no more than 2-3 days. I have a home office and could not conduct any of my consultant work. I had to disconnect my office computer, printer, and fax machine. Also, I could not sit anywhere in my house except for my master bedroom. My master bedroom is also the only place I have a TV hooked up. I disconnected my main TV and moved it out of the living room to allow for the floor installation. I wasn’t able to leave my house for 10 days, because I had to wait for the installer. I certainly didn’t want to miss him after waiting all that extra time.

In closing,I entered into a contract with Empire Today in good faith. I feel I have been treated poorly. The most insulting part is the fact the installer didn’t have the common decency to call and inform me that he wouldn’t be coming to my house. His actions amounted to pouring salt in the wound.


Share This Review:



         


Is this your Business? Claim Your Business Free and reply to this customer

CONTACT THIS BUSINESS

Post a reply for this review COMMENT
WRITE to empire today
SUBMIT a ticket
for empire today
WATCH videos
for empire today
More empire today Reviews and Complaints MORE reviews and complaints
for empire today

BUSINESSES REPLY HERE

Company was claimed GREAT NEWS, this company has Partnered with MeasuredUp and uses it to answer you!
Link to MeasuredUp BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Excellence Badge
Take the pledge BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Pledge Badge
Upgrade Account BUSINESSES: Build your customer service online reputation


ADVERTISEMENT


Comments

login with Facebook and share your reviews

More empire today reviews


More

Similar reviews


More

[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team